Home Page

The Grove Infant and Nursery School

Achieving our potential in our creative learning community

Meet the Governors

Welcome to our Governors’ section.

Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.

The Grove Infant and Nursery School – Governing Body Membership and Interests

Governors pay a key role in supporting the school.  There are 3 core functions of the Governing Body:

1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction

2. Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the school and it's pupils, and the performance management of staff

3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure that its money is well spent, including pupil premium


The Governing Body of the Grove Infant and Nursery School is made up of 12 members comprising 6 parent governors (elected by the parent body or appointed by the governing body if no parent stands for election when a vacancy arises), the headteacher, 1 staff governor (elected by the staff as a whole), 1 LEA governor appointed by Herts County Council and 4 co-opted governors appointed by the governing body. Associate Members may also be appointed to a Committee of the Governing Body.

The current members of the Governing Body and their areas of responsibility are listed below. 

All governors sit on one of two Committees, Resources or Curriculum. The Headteacher and Chair of Governors are members of both Committees.  A small group of Governors also form the Policy Committee.


The Curriculum Committee is focused on the curriculum, monitoring the quality of teaching and learning across the EYFS and KS1, and providing challenge and support to the School Leaders to ensure there is a continued drive for improvement.

The Resources Committee monitors the school budget, staffing and the school premises: providing strategic support to ensure that finances are well managed.

The Policies Committee work on policy development before  these are discussed and approved at the Full Governing Body meetings. 


Governors are encouraged to visit the school throughout the school year, and work with their link Subject Leader to monitor curriculum development (or other roles) and feedback to the larger Governing Body.  Their role is essential in order for them to fulfill their role as a 'critical friend' to the Leadership Team.  Minutes are available on request from the school office.




Term of Office


Meeting Attendance 2020 - 2021

Anna Archer


Duration of Headship

Member of Curriculum and Resources Committee

CC – 4/4

RC – 6/6

FGB - 5/5

Julie Adams-  Moore


Parent23/04/21 to 22/04/25

Member of Resouces Committee

Link Governor for Maths and the Creative Arts

RC - 2/2

FGB - 2/2


Jill Bolton



25/10/18 to 24/10/22

Member of Curriculum Committee

Link Governor for Inclusion and Safeguarding

CC - 4/4

FGB - 5/5

Keith Brooker


12/12/18 to 11/12/22

Member of Resources Committee

Member of Policy Committee

Link Governor for History, Geography and Policy Review

RC - 6/6

FGB - 4/5

Ian Cater


04/06/18 to 03/06/22

Chair of Governors

Member of Curriculum, Resources and Policy Committees

CC – 3/4

FGB – 5/5

David Hayward


16/10/19 to 15/10/23

Chair of  Resources Committee

Link Governor for Health and Safety

RC – 6/6

FGB – 4/5

Michelle LynchParent21/10/21 - 20/10/2025 

Member of Curriculum Committee

Link Governor for RE, PSHE and PE

  CC - 

  FGB - 

Sonya ParrottStaff Governor

01/01/20 to


  Member of Curriculum Committee

  CC - 3/3

  FGB - 3/3

Anne RichardsonCo-opted21/10/2021 to 20/10/2025Associate Governor

  CC - 

  FGB - 

Simon Scott



04/02/19 to 03/02/23

Member of Resources Committee

Link Governor for Computing

CC – 4/4

RC – 6/6

FGB - 5/5

Clare Shaw


09/06/18 to 08/06/22

Vice Chair of Governors

Chair of Curriculum Committee

Member of Policy Committee

Link Governor for EYFS

CC – 4/4

FGB – 4/5

 Mike TookeyParent28/03/21

Associate Governor


 Emma Whiteford

Parent21/10/21 to 20/10/25

Member of Curriculum Committee

Data Protection Officer

Link Governor for English

CC – 4/4

FGB – 4/5

Jo Woodcock



13/11/20 to 


Member of Resources Committee

Link Governor for Science

RC - 4/4

FGB 4/5



The Governors’ Register of Business Interests currently contains no declaration of any relevant interests by any current governor or any governor in post in the last 12 months.

Every half term the two Committees meet to support the school leadership team.  There is also a full Governing Body meeting every half term, where strategic decisions are made.

The Curriculum Committee meets during the day time and monitors the teaching and learning that goes on at school.  The Resources Committee meets in the evening and is responsible for premises, staffing and financial management.